You are using the Global edition of Bachtrack, which contains listings and reviews across the world
OK, stay here
Switch to the United States editionUnited States - English
Remember my choice (uses cookies)
Global - EN

Work: Sinfonietta, Op.60 [Janáček]

Fact file
ComposerJanáček, Leoš (1854-1928)
Period20th century
Work typeOrchestral
Listen now by Naxos
Our monthly feature

Baroque Month

August is Baroque Month here at Bachtrack as we explore Baroque repertoire and those who perform it.
Upcoming eventsSee more...

Symphony “From the New World”

Smetana, Dvořák, Janáček
Anima Eterna Brugge; Jos van Immerseel

Shostakovich 15

Janáček, Shostakovich
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Donald Runnicles; Mark O'Keefe; Garrick Ohlsson

Shostakovich 15

Janáček, Shostakovich
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Donald Runnicles; Mark O'Keefe; Garrick Ohlsson

Bold Worlds

Janáček, Dean, Mussorgsky
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra; Dima Slobodeniouk; Håkan Hardenberger

Happy Birthday "Hurricane Mama": Salonen, Saariaho & Sibelius

Janáček, Saariaho, Sibelius
Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra; Esa-Pekka Salonen; Olivier Latry
Latest reviewsSee more...

Fiery Janáček and Lalo in Sydney

Fiery Janáček and Lalo tempered by autumnal Brahms in Sydney in a concert which turned the usual structure on its head. 
Read more

Goose pimples and grisly secrets: A thrilling Bluebeard's Castle

Two Eastern European masterpieces were given gripping readings by the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under Edward Gardner.
Read more

Jakub Hrůša conducts the Philharmonia in Czech masterworks

As part of the short series of concerts curated by Jakub Hrůša, Bohemian Legends,focusing on Czech music from its golden era 1850 – 1950 and featuring three of its greatest masters (Dvořák, Janáček and Suk), the Philharmonia treated us to a collection of almost excessively rousing works.
Read more

Triumph and chaos: Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin at Musikfest Berlin

A few nights after the Berliner Philharmoniker brought us Janáček’s late masterpiece, the Glagolitic Mass, the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and conductor Tugan Sokhiev took the stage with his other great work from the same year, 1926: the Sinfonietta, Op. 60, which originally appeared with the modifier “Military”.
Read more

Prom 42: Kirill Karabits, Sunwook Kim and Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Wednesday night’s Prom saw the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and their principal conductor Kirill Karabits give the fourth instalment of the season’s Tchaikovsky symphony cycle with the sunny, confident Third, in D major. As the programme noted, the D major symphony is somewhat hard to place between the folksy, popular appeal of the first two and the high psychological drama of nos. 4–6.
Read more