Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo

Martha Argerich and the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

This listing is in the past
Sheldonian TheatreOxford, South-East, OX1 3AZ, United Kingdom
On Saturday 21 January 2017 at 19:30

Martha Argerich rose to fame with her interpretations of the virtuoso piano literature of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Any appearance by Argerich is a major event in any orchestra's season, and under the baton of Music Director Marios Papadopoulos, she performs Prokofiev’s third piano concerto, a blazing affirmation of impishness and rhapsody. Celebrating the Orchestra’s dynamic residency at the University of Oxford, the Oxford Philharmonic performs a shining work of student Giulia Monducci, whose Versus was presented in our 2016 Composers’ Workshop. Stravinsky’s The Firebird Suite, a dazzling array of orchestral textures, details the Russian folklore of a magical bird of fire and its assistance in vanquishing the sorcerer-tsar Koschei the Immortal.

Tickets £50 £35 £25 £15 (students from £5)

Mobile version