Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on

On demand: Grieg's Symphony no. 1 in C minor

Bergen Philharmonic OrchestraRecorded at Grieg Hall (Grieghallen), Bergen, Norway

Norwegian composer and pianist Edvard Grieg was born in Bergen, so it's only natural that the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra will be the one performing this beautiful piece.
The Symphony no.1 in C minor is actually the composer's only symphony: it was left untouched in a library because of a hand-written message from the composer on its cover: “Must never be performed”. For 113 years scholars studied it, but they were not allowed to copy it, or - of course - perform it. After much discussion, the piece was finally performed in 1980.

Watch it here in this rendition by the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Neeme Järvi.

Filmed in February 2015.

Mobile version