Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
No URL sent so chase
Bachtrack logo
What's on

On demand: Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade

KonserthusetPlayRecorded at Konserthuset Stockholm: Stora Salen, Stockholm, Sweden
Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Santtu-Matias RouvaliConductor
Andrej PowerViolin

A new chance to experience Rimsky-Korsakov's amazing orchestral colours in the suggestive Scheherazade suite. The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra is conducted by charismatic young conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali. The famous violin solo is played by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic's principal concertmaster Andrej Power.

Russian composer Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov was fascinated by the Orient. His symphonic Scheherazade suite is based on One Thousand and One Nights, the famous folktale collection from the areas around the Silk Road, a cultural region with Arabic, Indian, Chinese and Greek elements – a fact that fits incredibly well with Rimsky-Korsakov’s ability to create atmospheric orchestral sounds.

In the introduction to the first movement, “The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship”, we hear the theme of the dominant sultan, which soon transitions to Scheherazade, portrayed by the beautiful violin solo. The final movement, “The Festival at Baghdad; The Sea; Shipwreck on a Rock; Conclusion”, begins with the contrasts between the sultan and Scheherazade as well. In between, we hear ”The Kalendar Prince” and ”The Young Prince and the Young Princess”.

Filmed in September 2015.

Mobile version