Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
No URL sent so chase
Bachtrack logo
What's on

On demand: Dollhouse, with Martin Fröst

KonserthusetPlayRecorded at Konserthuset Stockholm: Stora Salen, Stockholm, Sweden
Fröst, GöranKlezmer Dance No. 3 for Clarinet and String Orchestra
Fröst, GöranDTangled
Falla, Manuel de (1876-1946)7 canciones populares españolas: Nana ((arranged by Göran Fröst))
Sørensen, Bent (b. 1958)Doll Steps in Venice
Dukas, Paul (1865-1935)The Sorcerer's Apprentice
Stravinsky, Igor (1882-1971)Pulcinella: Suite
Sørensen, Bent (b. 1958)3 Echoes of Dolls in Venice
Hillborg, Anders (b. 1954)Clarinet Concerto "Peacock Tales" (Millenium Version)
Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Martin FröstConductor, Clarinet, Director
Magnus HolmanderClarinet
Ingrid Meidell NoodtClarinet
Linus FellbomDirector, Lighting Designer
Birgitta EgerbladhChoreography
Ambra SucciChoreography

Subtitles in English are activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Dollhouse is a unique concert creation by clarinetist Martin Fröst – a fusion of music, choreography and light that far surpasses conventions. This concert centres on movement.

Dollhouse is a concept and a concert in equal measure. The invisible ties between musicians and music, between conductor and orchestra are exposed, giving rise to action on several different levels.

Martin Fröst has said about Dollhouse: “It’s a kind of exploration of what happens on stage, where I’ve created a fusion between conducting, playing and choreography. The movements are incorporated into the music and the musicians follow my choreography. Everything lands in a sort of theatrical borderland, where the musicians react to my movements; in a sense, it is a liberation from ingrained patterns, a different way to communicate in order to achieve new dimensions in the music.”

Among other things, during the concert we hear his brother Göran Fröst’s DTangled, composed especially for Dollhouse. We also hear his brilliant Klezmer Dance No 3, Anders Hillborg’s clarinet concerto Peacock Tales (Millennium Version), and music by Stravinsky, Duaks and Sørensen.

Also available to watch free are the other two projects part of this trilogy: Genesis (2015) and Retrotopia (2018).

Mobile version