Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Bartók Plus

MapBuy tickets
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Lukes161 Old Street, London, Greater London, EC1V 9NG, United Kingdom
On Friday 20 September 2019 at 13:00
Quatuor Voce

Three folk-inspired masterworks by a pair of friends, colleagues and fellow countrymen, Kodály and Bartók – two composers united in their affinity for the music of their native Hungary.

Opening with Kodály’s serene serenade Intermezzo for String Trio, French quartet Quator Voce get under the skin of the composer’s String Quartet No 2, a piece which bristles with the energy of Hungarian dance rhythms. While subdued at first, the rhythms build and build throughout the piece, unleashed at the end in a wild finale.

Kodály himself described the three movements of Bartók’s Second String Quartet as three ‘life episodes’, moving from ‘a quiet life to joy to sorrow’. Like Kodály’s Quartet, the piece swells in intensity, closing in mournful disquiet.

Mobile version