Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Vivaldi and Pergolesi: Sacred Baroque

MapBuy tickets
Southbank Centre: Queen Elizabeth HallBelvedere Road, London, Greater London, SE1 8XX, United Kingdom
On Monday 11 November 2019 at 19:00

Iestyn Davies stars in the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment’s concert featuring three beautiful Baroque masterpieces by Italian composers.

In the Baroque era, Italy produced stunning sacred choral music that lifts the soul and still resonates through the ages.

Iestyn Davies and Katherine Watson join the OAE to perform the most exquisite examples.

Written just days before he died aged just 26, Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater is beautiful and melancholic.

The most popular piece of its time, it was celebrated by Jean-Jacques Rousseau as ‘the most perfect and most touching to have come from the pen of any musician’.

In contrast, Vivaldi’s Gloria is inspiring and celebratory.

Written for the all-female choir of a Venetian orphanage, it boasts an almost universally sunny sound-world and Vivaldi’s trademark invigorating melodies.

In between, we’ve a perfectly formed little gem, Vivaldi’s Concerto for Lute – actually performed on a lute, rather than the guitar or mandolin that has become more typical in the 21st century.

Mobile version