Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
No URL sent so chase
Bachtrack logo
What's on

On demand: Beethoven's Emperor concerto

Bergen Philharmonic OrchestraRecorded at Grieg Hall (Grieghallen), Bergen, Norway

This is Beethoven’s final piano concerto, the Piano Concerto no. 5 in E flat major - also known as the "Emperor". It was written between 1809 and 1811 in Vienna, and was dedicated to Archduke Rudolf, Beethoven's patron and pupil.

Watch as acclaimed Spanish soloist Javier Perianes brings order to a post-Napoleonic world of sound and fury, sweeping the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Klaus Mäkelä towards a dignified celebration of freedom and peace.

Filmed in January 2019

Mobile version