Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Iceland Symphony Orchestra with Yan Pascal Tortelier and Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, piano

MapBuy ticketsWish list
Theatre Royal and Royal Concert HallTheatre Square, Nottingham, Nottingham, East Midlands, NG1 5ND, United Kingdom
On Saturday 8 February 2020 at 19:30

This atmospheric concert sees the Iceland Symphony Orchestra
making its first visit to Nottingham under its charismatic Music Director, Yan
Pascal Tortelier. The first half brings Gallic flair and finesse, with Bizet’s
sparkling Second Suite from L’Arlésienne. Ravel’s Piano Concerto for the Left
Hand, composed for one-armed pianist Paul Wittgenstein is a moodier affair, its
subterranean opening sounds emerging into a riot of colours that recalls the
sunrise of Daphnis and Chloë. The influence of jazz is also felt with jaunty
rhythms running throughout. Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, an award-winning interpreter
of Ravel, is our soloist. Anna Thorvaldsdottir is Iceland’s leading living
composer and her 2011 piece Aeriality evokes the freedom of gliding through air
set against the motion of musical tectonic plates. Its textures set the scene
for Sibelius’s First Symphony, whose etched melodies and rugged climaxes put a
Finnish timbre on music blending Germanic rigour with Tchaikovskian expression.
This symphony’s direct energy and drama ensured its place amongst the greatest
turn-of-the-century compositions.

Pre-concert talk, 6.20pm in the auditorium:
Jonathan James introduces the programme.

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @RoyalNottingham #Nottinghamclassics

Mobile version