Bachtrack logo

The Hallé - Sibelius's Seventh Symphony

MapBuy tickets
Bridgewater HallManchester, North-West, M2 3WS, United Kingdom
On Thursday 10 May 2018 at 19:30

The remarkable Henning Kraggerud returns to play, what is for many, the greatest Violin Concerto of them all. Its extensive first movement is largely lyrical, the second sublime and the third simply bursts with buoyancy and energy. Clocks from a Winter’s Tale emerged from Ryan Wigglesworth’s Shakespeare-based opera The Winter’s Tale, given its premiere by English National Opera in 2017. Its three movements explore the development of simple rhythmic figures or pulses – hence ‘clocks’ – as they warp, bend and collide. Equally fascinating is Sibelius’s final symphony, his Seventh. An enigmatic work, it is a single span of continuous musical development in which seven sections are linked by almost imperceptible changes of tempo.

Mobile version