Bachtrack logo

Dmitry Masleev performs Shostakovich

MapBuy tickets
Cadogan Hall5 Sloane Terrace, London, Greater London, SW1X 9DQ, United Kingdom
On Tuesday 13 March 2018 at 19:30
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Christoph KoenigConductor
Dmitry MasleevPiano

This concert opens with the charming Overture to Weber’s opera Euryanthe, a work which paved the way for Wagner’s operatic innovations.

This is followed by Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno. The Orchestra is then joined by Dmitry Masleev for Shostakovich’s energetic Piano Concerto No.2, before the evening is drawn to a close by Tchaikovsky’s monumental Symphony No.6, known as the ‘Pathetique’ Symphony. The Symphony bursts with passion; Tchaikovsky himself described the piece many times in his letters as the best thing he had ever composed.

Mobile version