Bachtrack logo

The Three Epochs of Bach

MapBuy tickets
Kings Place: Hall One90 York Way, London, Greater London, N1 9AG, United Kingdom
On Sunday 15 April 2018 at 11:30
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)Fugue, BWV1026
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)Cello suite no. 3 in C major, BWV1009
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)Flute Sonata in E minor, BWV1034 (For flute and continuo)
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)Well-Tempered Clavier 2: Prelude and Fugue No. 2 in C Minor, BWV871
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)Trio sonata in E Minor, BWV528 ( after BWV 527 in D minor)
Martin FeinsteinFlute
Catherine MansonViolin
Christopher SucklingCello
Robin BigwoodHarpsichord
Feinstein Ensemble

Bach’s time as court composer in Cöthen, free from any devotional duties, was his golden age of instrumental music. However many chamber works were written much earlier than this and others were composed during his later Leipzig period, to be performed at the famous Collegium Musicum concerts. Here The Feinstein Ensemble introduce and perform three decades of instrumental masterpieces, including his earliest surviving chamber work: the Fugue for violin and continuo in G minor.

Part of Time Unwrapped 2018 and Bach Weekend 2018: Time Changes at Kings Place 

Mobile version