Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo

Looping Time – Hugo Ticciati & O/Modernt

MapBuy tickets
Kings Place: Hall One90 York Way, London, Greater London, N1 9AG, United Kingdom
On Friday 21 September 2018 at 19:30
Adams, John (b. 1947)Shaker Loops
Tüür, Erkki-Sven (b. 1959)Concerto for viola and orchestra
Perotin (1160-1230)Viderunt omnes (arr. Johannes Marmén)
Glass, Philip (b. 1937)Symphony no. 3

Artist-in-residence Hugo Ticciati returns with his Swedish O/Modernt Orchestra for a Minimalist programme focused on spiralling repetitions.

Shaker Loops was John Adams’s breakthrough work, in which he combined the process of phasing with waves of oscillating melodic cells to create complex, pulsing patterns. Wave-forms are also important in the music of Estonian Erkki-Sven Tüür, whose Second Violin Concerto receives its UK premiere from Hugo Ticciati. Formerly in a progressive rock band, Tüür draws on Gregorian chant and Minimalist processes to create music of deep stillness and unpredictable, explosive energy. Pérotin provides a prelude to Glass’s Symphony No. 3, at the heart of which is a monumental Chaconne.

Part of Time Unwrapped 2018 at Kings Place 

© Marco Borggreve
© Marco Borggreve
Mobile version