Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo

Forest of Clocks – CoMA Anniversary Ensemble

MapBuy tickets
Kings Place: Hall One90 York Way, London, Greater London, N1 9AG, United Kingdom
On Sunday 23 September 2018 at 18:30
Cashian, Philip (b. 1963)The Forest of Clocks
Jones, HowardThe Ilusion of Progress
Levinas, MichaëlTrois Pensées pour Coma
Vitkauskaite, Rutanew work - world premiere
COMA London Ensembleanniversary ensemble
Gregory RoseConductor

An evening of time-warping highlights from CoMA’s catalogue, reflecting the diverse languages of composer’s today.

Philip Cashian’s magical odyssey for choir and orchestra The Forest of Clocks, sets the poetry of Pablo Neruda, Kathleen Raine and Federico García Lorca, whose evocative poem gives the work its title: ‘I entered the forest/of clocks/Leaves were ticking/bells hung in clusters’. Expect guitars, metronomes and ping-pong balls.

Musical pulses and temporal vortices are explored in French composer Michaël Lévinas’s swarming, otherworldly Trois Pensées pour CoMA, while Howard Jones’s The Illusion of Progress speaks loudly to our current age. The concert also features a new work by Lithuanian Ruta Vitkauskaite, a composer seeking mythic musical archetypes.

This event is part of the Time Unwrapped 2018 and Contemporary Music for All at Kings Place. 

Mobile version