Bachtrack logo

Bluthner Piano Series: Martin Sturfalt

MapBuy tickets
St John's Smith SquareSmith Square, London, London, Greater London, SW1P 3HA, United Kingdom
On Tuesday 17 April 2018 at 19:30
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)Wir danken dir, Gott, wir danken dir - Cantata, BWV29: Sinfonia (arr. Kempff)
Sjogren, Emil (1853-1918)Prelude and Fugue in D minor, Op.39
Nielsen, Carl (1865-1931)Chaconne
Debussy, Claude (1862-1918)Pour le piano
Nilsson, Anders (b. 1954)Chaconne
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)Two Gigues for Piano ,
Liszt, Franz (1811-1886)Variations on a theme from Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen by JS Bach, S 180
Martin SturfaltPiano

Martin Sturfelt will introduce some of the many Swedish composers who have enriched the musical world with their fine compositions. Emil Sjögren, with preludes and fugues, Carl Nielsen, whose style is very personal, and Anders Nielson who represents the modern world of Swedish composition.

The Gigues by Johannes Brahms will bring you back into the Romantic time and the Variations by Franz Liszt will allow the pianist to show his dexterity on the keyboard.

The composition “Pour le piano” was begun in 1894, finished in 1901 and was Debussy’s first major work for solo piano to be published.

For one contemporary critic the suite had “the force of a programme, if not a manifesto”. Another wrote that it was a work dedicated “not to instrumentalists but to the instrument itself."

Mobile version