Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on

On demand: Beethoven's Piano Concerto no. 1

Bergen Philharmonic OrchestraRecorded at Grieg Hall (Grieghallen), Bergen, Norway

Beethoven's Piano Concerto no.1 was written in 1795, and performed by the composer himself as a soloist, then revised in 1800 and published in 1801 in Vienna - with dedication to his pupil Princess Anna Louise Barbara Odescalchi, known to her friends as "Babette".

Although this was Beethoven's first piano concerto to be published, it was actually his third attempt at the genre, following an unpublished piano concerto in E-flat major of 1784 (not to be confused with Beethoven's more famous "Emperor" concerto, also in E-flat) and the Piano Concerto No. 2.

Watch Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes tackle this beautiful piece with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Eivind Gullberg Jensen.

Filmed in January 2015.

© Gregor Hohenberg
© Gregor Hohenberg
Mobile version