Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on

Video on demand: Bruckner's Symphony no. 6

Bergen Philharmonic OrchestraRecorded at Grieg Hall (Grieghallen), Bergen, Norway

The Symphony no. 6 in A major by Austrian composer Anton Bruckner is a work in four movements that he composed between 1879 and 1881. It is dedicated to his landlord, Dr. Anton van Ölzelt-Newin. Although it has many characteristic features that belong to a Bruckner symphony, it is the piece that differs the most from the rest of his symphonic repertory. This might be one of the reasons it is not performed very often, despite its rich and unique expressiveness. 

Watch this rare piece performed by the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra led by British conductor Robin Ticciati

Filmed in September 2016.

© Giorgia Bertazzi
© Giorgia Bertazzi
Mobile version