Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on

Video on demand: Mahler's First Symphony

Bergen Philharmonic OrchestraRecorded at Grieg Hall (Grieghallen), Bergen, Norway

Gustav Mahler composed the Symphony no. 1 in D major mostly between late 1887 and March 1888 while he was second conductor at the Leipzig Opera in Germany, although the score incorporates music he had composed for previous works. This symphony was modified several times, but when it was ultimately published it had a traditional four-movement form. The first movement is in modified sonata form, the second is a scherzo and trio based on a Ländler (a traditional Austrian waltz), the third is a slower funeral march with a lyrical central section, and the fourth serves as an expansive finale.

Watch it performed by the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Edward Gardner.

Filmed in October 2015.

© Benjamin Ealovega
© Benjamin Ealovega
Mobile version