Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on

Video streamed event and on demand: Santtu-Matias Rouvali – American Dreams

Watch online on philharmonia.co.ukPhilharmonia OrchestraRecorded at Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall, London, United Kingdom
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Monday 26 October 202019:30
On demand until Wednesday 25 November 2020 19:30

75 years ago, almost to the day, the Philharmonia Orchestra gave its first concert. Our Principal Conductor Designate Santtu-Matias Rouvali opens a season like no other in the Orchestra’s three-quarters of a century. 

A trio of American composers, and one who became an American citizen, rub shoulders in Santtu’s appealing programme. Aaron Copland’s much-loved Appalachian Spring tells the tender, hopeful story of a young couple preparing for their wedding. 

Santtu joins the Philharmonia’s percussion section on claves (tuned woodblocks) for Steve Reich’s mesmerizing Music for Pieces of Wood. Florence Price conjures up the Deep South of her childhood in three characterful dances, a Rag, a Slow Drag and a Cakewalk. 

Igor Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks is named after the grand Washington home of the couple who commissioned it. But with its lively counterpoint and contrast of timbres between strings, woodwind and horns, it is an homage not to American music but to JS Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos. 

UK price: standard £12, with the option to add a donation and pay £20 (livestream is via TicketCo.)

Non-UK price: 10.90 EUR / USD (livestream is via Idagio's Digital Concert Hall)

Mobile version