Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Click here to apply for the Sydney International Piano Competition
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Video streamed event and on demand: Sollazzo Ensemble / Anna Danilevskaia

Watch online on oudemuziek.nlEarly Music TelevisionRecorded at Early Music Television, Utrecht, Netherlands
Requires subscription
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Saturday 27 August 202220:00
On demand from Saturday 27 August 2022 20:00
Tapissier, Johannes (1370-1410)Eya dulcis / Vale placens
da Perugia, MatteoPrès du soloil
Ciconia, Johannes (1370-1412)Ut per omnes celitus
da Perugia, MatteoHelas avril
Cascia, Giovanni da (d. 1350)Quand’amor
da Perugia, MatteoDame de honeur
AnonymousLibera me (arr. Anna Danilevskaia)
Landini, Francesco (1325-1397)Creata fusti o vergine Maria, cantasi come Questa fanciulla
AnonymousMagdalena degna da laudare
AnonymousKyrie ‘Rondello’
Bornelh, Giraut de (1140-1200)No puesc sofrir cala dolor
da Firenze, Paolo (ca. 1355-after 1436)Perche vendetta
da Perugia, Niccolò (1300-1400)Nel meço già del mar
Landini, Francesco (1325-1397)Chosi pensoso
da Rimini, VincenzoIn forma quasi
de Moulins, PierreAmis tous dous/Molendinium de Paris

Like the canopy under which we rest every night, the expressive power of music connects generations and centuries. With this in mind the young Sollazzo Ensemble presents a monumental fresco in which past and present meet. The starting point of this scenically conceived concert is a panorama of medieval frescoes and paintings in which biblical protagonists are joined by angels playing music. These angels accompany the scenes with imaginary heavenly music.

Vielle specialist Anna Danilevskaia’s celebrated ensemble brings this iconography to life: each part of the concert presents a medieval image, which is first expressed as a tableau vivant and then portrayed by means of ballads and liturgical chants by Francesco Landini, Matteo da Perugia and Johannes Ciconia.

Mobile version