Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on

Video on demand: Holst's The Planets

Bergen Philharmonic OrchestraRecorded at Grieg Hall (Grieghallen), Bergen, Norway

The Planets, Op. 32, is a seven-movement orchestral suite by English composer Gustav Holst, written between 1914 and 1916. Each movement of the suite is named after a planet of the Solar System and its corresponding astrological character as defined by Holst. The concept of the work is astrological rather than astronomical (which is why Earth is not included, although Sun and Moon are also not included while including the non-traditional Uranus and Neptune): each movement is intended to convey ideas and emotions associated with the influence of the planets on the psyche.

Watch this popular piece performed by the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Andrew Litton.

Filmed in February 2017.

© Steve J Sherman
© Steve J Sherman
Mobile version