Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Guide to the ARD International Music Competition Munich

Laureates of the ARD Competition

How it all began…

It took place for the first time in 1952: the ARD International Music Competition, one of the most renowned and large-scale competitions of its kind. It was founded by the public broadcasting radio stations of the Federal Republic of Germany, managed by Bavarian Broadcasting in Munich and takes place every year in September. For many of today’s world-famous artists, an award from the ARD International Music Competition in Munich represented a spring board to their major careers: Jessye Norman, Francisco Araiza, Natalia Gutman, Christoph Eschenbach, Mitsuko Uchida, Thomas Quasthoff, Yuri Bashmet, Christian Tetzlaff, Sharon Kam,Heinz Holliger, Peter Sadlo, Maurice André and the Quatuor Ebène, to name but a few.

The Competition Today

Over the years, the ARD International Music Competition with its annually changing line-up of musicians has developed into an internationally singular and highly regarded institution. It offers not only singers and pianists but also all the other instrumentalists the podium of an international competition, both for solo and chamber music performance. Since 2001, the presence of contemporary music has been considerably reinforced through commissions to prominent composers.

Each year an average of 400 to 600 young musicians apply to take part in the competition. Then, following a preliminary round, some 200 competitors from 35 to 40 countries actually appear. The international renown of the ARD Music Competition can be noted by the high percentage of non-German participants (88 %).

The 72nd ARD International Music Competition Munich is open for the following categories: Harp, Double Bass, Piano Trio and Viola. It will take place from August 28 to September 15, 2023 (including the prizewinners’ concerts). The competition, because of its scale and prestige, offers to the participants a unique opportunity for testing their musical mettle against other world-class players, and also offers networking opportunities, the chance to meet agents and music executives looking to sign up the next big talent. Very prestigious orchestras will accompany the competition at the semifinals and finals: Munich Chamber Orchestra, Münchner Rundfunkorchester and Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks.

Fact file
SectionsHarp, Double Bass, Piano Trio, Viola
Deadline01 Feb - 31 Mar 2023
Finals06 - 10 Sep 2023
WhereMunich, Germany
Age groupsThe competition is open to musicians of all nations born between 1994 and 2006 in the categories harp, double bass and viola. Piano Trio: total age maximum 90; single members neither younger than 17 nor older than 35.

Harp: First Prize € 10,000 | Second Prize € 7,500 | Third Prize € 5,000

Double Bass: First Prize € 10,000 | Second Prize € 7,500 | Third Prize € 5,000

Piano Trio: First Prize € 18,000 | Second Prize € 13,500 | Third Prize € 9,000

Viola: First Prize € 10,000 | Second Prize € 7,500 | Third Prize € 5,000

The competition also offers several special prizes and concerts for the prize winners. Masterclass are offered only for the harp laureates.

Harp Jury

Marie-Pierre Langlamet, President (France)
Sarah Christ (Germany, Australia)
Anneleen Lenaerts (Belgium, Austria)
Bryn Lewis (Great Britain)
Ion Ivan Roncea (Romania)
Petra van der Heide (Netherlands)
Jessica Zhou (USA)

Double Bass Jury

Timothy Cobb, President (USA)
Heiner Braun (Germany)
Michinori Bunya (Japan)
Christine Hoock (Germany)
Goran Kostic (Serbia)
Daniele Roccato (Italy)
Sandrine Vautrin (France)

Piano Trio Jury

Susan Tomes, President (Great Britain)
Jitka Čechová (Czech Republic)
Soo-Kyung Hong (Denmark/Korea)
Esther Hoppe (Switzerland)
Per Lundberg (Sweden)
Raphael Pidoux (France)
Annete von Hehn (Germany)

Viola Jury

Lars Anders Tomter, President (Norway)
Steven Ansell (USA)
Tatjana Masurenko (Germany/Russia)
Jutta Puchhammer-Sédillot (Austria/Canada)
Naoko Shimizu (Japan)
Edward Vanderspar (Great Britain)
Wen Xiao Zheng (China)

Throw back to the 2022 edition