Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Competition: The International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition


The International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition is a biennial competition arranged by the KODE Edvard Grieg Museum Troldhaugen in Bergen, Norway, since 2012. The key ambition is a high-quality competition with a warm and inclusive atmosphere in Grieg’s own historic surroundings. The foundation Stiftelsen Kristian Gerhard Jebsen is the main sponsor and the exclusive private contributor to the competition.

Entry conditions

The Grieg Competition is open to all pianists of all nationalities born in the years 1987-2005, but with the following exceptions:

  • The applicant is a former 1st prize winner at the Competition
  • The applicant is a close relative of a Juror.
  • The applicant is currently a Juror’s student at an institution or receives regular private lessons from a Juror.
  • The applicant has been a student of a Juror in such terms after 26 August 2017, or had one or more private lessons with a Juror during the same period. Participants who are accepted to the Competition in Bergen are not allowed to take any lesson or participate at any masterclass with a Juror from the date of the application until the end of the Competition.


  • 20 April 2022: Application Deadline
  • 26 August 2022: Competition registration for the participants in Bergen.
  • 27-29 August 2022: Round 1
  • 30 August 2022: Round 2
  • 31 August 2022: Semi-Final
  • 03 September 2022: Final

Application deadline for the competition is 20 April 2022. A pre-qualification jury selects 30 pianists who will be invited to Bergen to participate.

All preliminary rounds are free and open to the public. Only the Final Concert requires a purchased ticket at the Grieg Hall, the home of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. All rounds, including the final, are live-streamed on our websites and on our Facebook page.


The Grieg Competition offer paid concert opportunities (500 EUR) for all participants who do not pass to the second round or to the semi final. All semi finalists receive a prize of 1,500 EUR.

The Jury

  • Einar Steen-Nøkleberg (chairman)
  • Noriko Ogawa
  • Christian Ihle Hadland
  • Lilya Zilberstein
  • Uta Weyand
  • Pablo Galdo
  • Robert Levin

Past Laureates

Winners 2018

1st Prize and the Audience Prize: Ryoma Takagi; 2nd Prize: Matyáš Novák; 3rd Prize and the Orchestra's Prize: Alexey Trushechkin

Winners 2016

1st Prize and the Audience Prize: Ah Ruem Ahn; 2nd Prize and the Orchestra’s Prize: Zhenni Li; 3rd Prize: Ben Cruchley

Winners 2014

1st Prize, Audience Prize and Orchestra’s Prize: Joachim Carr; 2nd Prize: Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev; 3rd Prize: Peter Friis Johansson

Winners 2012

1st Prize: Sasha Grynyuk; 2nd Prize and the Audience Prize: Anton Igubnov; 3rd Prize: Mamikon Nakhapetov

For more information, please visit The International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition's website.

Fact file
Deadline20 Apr 2022
Finals03 Sep 2022
WhereBergen, Norway
Age groupsPianists born between 1987 and 2005