Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

BBC Symphony Orchestra / Gardner

MapBuy tickets
Barbican HallSilk Street, London, Greater London, EC2Y 8DS, United Kingdom
On Friday 13 March 2020 at 19:30
Schoenberg, Arnold (1874-1951)Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night) for orchestra, Op.4
Fried, Oskar (1871-1941)Verklärte Nacht for mezzo, tenor and orchestra
Lehár, Franz (1870-1948)Fieber
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)Piano Quartet no. 1 in G minor, Op.25 (arr. by Arnold Schoenberg)

Edward Gardner and the Orchestra revisit 1890s Vienna, bringing us all the searing power and extreme emotions of musical Romanticism’s last stand.

In the last decade of the nineteenth century, musical Romanticism was breathing its last, reaching heights of passion that would deliver some of the most moving music in history. Written two years apart, both Arnold Schoenberg and Oskar Fried’s responses to a well-known poem on love’s power to transform and transcend share a lusciousness and warmth that could only have come from 1890s Vienna. That was the time and place where Schoenberg met his hero, Johannes Brahms and soon decided to rework a Brahms quartet known for its spontaneity, ardour, ebullience and good fun.

Tenor Stuart Skelton makes a welcome return to the BBC SO to perform Lehár’s Tone Poem for Tenor & Orchestra with Edward Gardner conducting the Orchestra for his heart-rending delve into Romanticism’s last stand.

Mobile version