Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Gardner & Montero: Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1

MapBuy ticketsWish list
Davies Symphony HallSan Francisco, California, CA 94102, United States
2020 May 29 20:00, May 30 20:00, May 31 14:00

Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 today holds a dual role in the orchestral lexicon: it tests the mettle of every soloist while reasserting its place among the best-loved works in the repertoire. Hear the concerto played by one of music’s most all-around pianists: Gabriela Montero. Bringing a combination of visionary interpretations, prodigious technique, and an uncanny gift for improvisation (often based on audience suggestions), Montero injects her larger-than-life personality into this Tchaikovsky thrill ride. Edward Gardner, Chief Conductor of the Bergen Philharmonic, leads the Orchestra in Bartók’s boisterous Dance Suite (which was inspired by Hungarian folksong), and in Prokofiev’s gorgeous and lyrical Scenes from Romeo and Juliet.

Mobile version