Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Open Rehearsal: Leila Josefowicz plays Salonen Violin Concerto

MapBuy ticketsWish list
Davies Symphony HallSan Francisco, California, CA 94102, United States
On Thursday 27 February 2020 at 10:00

San Francisco Symphony Music Director Designate Esa-Pekka Salonen takes a turn as composer and conductor with longtime musical partner Leila Josefowicz. The restlessly innovative maestro presents his Violin Concerto, a piece championed by intrepid virtuoso Leila Josefowicz she since gave its premiere in 2009. Also on the program, Salonen and the SF Symphony play Beethoven’s 1811 Overture to King Stephen, written to commemorate the opening of a new concert hall in Budapest. They conclude the evening with the kinetic Fifth Symphony by fellow Nordic composer Carl Nielsen.

Mobile version