Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on

Live online: Next Step 2 – The Ocean

Bergen Philharmonic OrchestraLive broadcast from Grieg Hall (Grieghallen), Bergen, Norway
On Friday 13 December 2019 at 19:30 (Oslo time zone)
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra
Ludovic MorlotConductor
Stein PhillipsLighting Designer

Watch the concert live on this page. The video page will become live at the time of the performance. 

Ludovic Morlot comes to Bergen to give the Nordic premiere of the Pulitzer Prize-winning work his orchestra in Seattle commissioned: John Luther Adams’s orchestral monolith Become Ocean.

This huge orchestral depiction of the deep, dark oceans around the Pacific Northwest mines into a single musical texture for almost 45 minutes, evolving slowly through a series of huge musical waves. But this unforgettable seascape, that seems to emerge from the centre of the earth, is also a call-to-action, as humanity faces the real prospect of ‘becoming ocean’ once more.

Morlot prefaces Adams’s deeply affecting score with music of similar breadth by Mendelssohn and Wagner, including the latter composer’s cinematic depiction of his hero Siegfried’s journey down the Rhine from the final chapter of the Ring Cycle. Continuing our NEXT STEPS series examining the world around us, researchers from the University of Bergen will participate in this concert.