Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Aurora Orchestra with Imogen Cooper

MapBuy ticketsWish list
Kings Place: Hall One90 York Way, London, Greater London, N1 9AG, United Kingdom
On Saturday 20 June 2020 at 19:00

A riot of vibrant colours splashes through this lively Mozart’s Piano programme with Aurora Orchestra and Imogen Cooper. Aurora plunges into the vast American heartland in Copland’s Appalachian Spring, a work sprinkled with infectious, light-footed melodies and life-affirming spirit.

This 20th-century classic is paired with two equally radiant pieces by Mozart composed in the same prolific year of 1786, in which the composer also penned his beloved opera The Marriage of Figaro. Pianist Imogen Cooper brings her dazzling playing to Mozart’s majestic Piano Concerto No. 25 in C major – a piece seen by some as the most ambitious and symphonic of all his piano concertos.

Concluding the programme, the grand Prague symphony sees Mozart at his most inventive, taking the symphonic form to new heights with the richness of his contrapuntal and harmonic exploration.

This event is part of Kings Place's year-long Nature Unwrapped series and Aurora Orchestra's Mozart's Piano series.

Mobile version