Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Cuarteto Casals: Mozart I

MapBuy ticketsWish list
L'Auditori: Sala Oriol MartorellLepanto, 150, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08013, Spain
On Tuesday 26 May 2020 at 20:00
Cuarteto Casals

This year, the Quartet Casals offers three programmes in which they explore, in chronological order, the last great quartets by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, written during the final nine years of the composer’s life. Quartets No. 14, 15 and 16 form part of the six quartets that Mozart dedicated to his admired friend Joseph Haydn, considered to be the father of this genre.

Written between 1782 and 1785 under the strong influence that Haydn's Quartets op. 33 had on Mozart, these works show a composer with absolute mastery of the compositional language and a willingness to explore the complexity of writing for string quartet.

Quartet No. 14, K. 387 shows Mozart's ability to achieve maximum clarity of language through complex instrumental writing. Quartet No. 15, K. 421, the only one of the six quartets written in minor key, exhaustively explores the use of the same material throughout the four movements of the work. And Quartet No. 16, K. 428, one of the most complete of the entire cycle, delights us with its unexpected harmonic turns.

© Igor.cat
© Igor.cat
Mobile version