Chicago Symphony Orchestra

This listing is in the past
Musikkens Hus: KoncertsalenMusikkens Plads 1, Aalborg, Nordjylland, 9000 , Denmark
January 16, 17 at 19:30

Musikkens Hus in Aalborg has entered an exclusive agreement with the legendary Chicago Symphony Orchestra, which gives no less than two great concerts with conductor Riccardo Muti in our Concert Hall. Musikkens Hus is the only venue in entire Scandinavia that the orchestra visits when it embarks on a European tour in early 2017.

Chicago Symphony Orchestra itself calls the concert in Musikkens Hus one of the “highlights of the tour”. Musikkens Hus in Aalborg is now in the same league as concert houses in Paris, Hamburg, Milan, Vienna, Baden-Baden and Frankfurt, which the tour also comprises.

The brilliant acoustics of our Concert Hall complete the experience when Chicago Symphony Orchestra shows its talent with pomp and circumstance. The programmes of the two concerts at Musikkens Hus differ; thus the audience has the chance to hear the works of brilliant composers such as Hindemith, Elgar, Mussorgsky, Strauss, Dvořák and Tchaikovsky at this impressive orchestra's concerts.

About Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Chicago Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1891 and has toured the US and internationally ever since. Canada was the first country to be visited by the orchestra in 1892, and since then the orchestra has completed 59 international tours and given concerts in 29 countries on five continents.

About Riccardo Muti
The world-famous conductor Riccardo Muti of Italian origin is considered one of the most prominent conductors of our time. When he joined the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 2010, he had more than 40 years of experience from Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Philharmonia Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra and Teatro alla Scala; moreover, he has featured as a guest conductor with orchestras and opera houses all over the world, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and the Vienna State Opera as well as the Metropolitan Opera. 

Programme, 16 January
HINDEMITH: Concert Music for String Orchestra and Brass
ELGAR: In the South (Alassio)
MUSSORGSKY: A Night on Bald Mountain
MUSSORGSKY, ORCH. RAVEL: Pictures from an Exhibition

Programme, 17 January
DVOŘÁK: Husitská Overture
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4 

Performing artists:
Riccardo Muti, conductor
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

© Todd Rosenberg
© Todd Rosenberg
Mobile version