Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Video streamed event and on demand: Barcelona String Quartet Biennale: Casals & Cosmos Quartets

Watch online on auditoridigital.catL'Auditori DigitalRecorded at L'Auditori: Sala Oriol Martorell, Barcelona, Spain
Pay to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Thursday 17 September 202020:00
On demand until Saturday 20 November 2021 23:59

Ticket prices €3.90 (special offer L'Auditori Digital: one month subscription for only €1 if you subscribe before December 15th)

The Cosmos and Casals quartets cover more than 200 years of European musical history, from the Napoleonic era to the 21st century. The madrigal He vented with the stars by Claudio Monteverdi is the starting point for Barcelona's Raquel García-Tomás to compose an original work for string trio and revised for quartet.

The square brackets around the title represent a lack of a beginning and an end, the fragmented and uncertain nature of any creation. The Renaissance madrigal theme appears in the middle of the harmonic clash and joins forces with the most modern techniques.

In the second string quartet, which is split into seven parts but with a single time signature, Robert Gerhard goes deep into the techniques of Schönberg’s serialism and legacy and explores new timbre possibilities for string instruments. Finally, we will hear the second of Beethoven’s three “Razumovsky Quartets”, a work commissioned by the Russian ambassador to Vienna, that has become a leading work in the European chamber music repertoire.

Mobile version