Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home
Watch for free! - click here

Video streamed event and on demand: Eric Ericsons Chamber Choir

Watch online on www.konserthuset.seKonserthuset PlayRecorded at Konserthuset Stockholm: Stora Salen, Stockholm, Sweden
Free to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Sunday 11 April 202119:00
On demand until Tuesday 11 May 2021 23:59

The Eric Ericson Chamber Choir, The Royal Dramatic Theatre and Konserthuset Stockholm in a unique collaboration. Irish a cappella music is combined with readings of the poetry of Nobel Prize Winner Seamus Heaney.

”Raise it again, man. We still believe what we hear”, it says in Seamus Heaney’s poem The Singer’s House – a celebration of singing and the art of poetry. In this very special collaboration, Irish music is presented together with readings of new Swedish translations of the poetry of Seamus Heaney.

The Irish theme is everywhere when music leads on to readings, and readings are followed by music or even overlayed by music. Irish Tune by Australian born Percy Grainger (1882–1961) frames a programme that also includes works by the Irish composers Arnold Bax (1883–1953), Gerald Berry (born in 1952) and Frank Corcoran (born in 1944).

100 years have passed since the Anglo/Irish Treaty of 1921 that concluded the Irish War of Independence and led to a separation of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland/Great Britain. Irish culture is of course still and historically linked to British culture, something that is embodied in a composer like Elizabeth Maconchy (1907–1994): she was born and active in England, but her parents were Irish and Maconchy always saw herself as Irish, in spite of the passport.

From the Royal Dramatic Theatre the participating actors are Lena Endre, Hannes Meidal and Siham Shurafa. The Eric Ericson Chamber Choir is led by its chief conductor Fredrik Malmberg. Publisher Stephen Farran-Lee introduces the programme, in which Tommy Olofsson’s new Swedish translations of Seamus Heaney’s poetry are presented for the first time.


En klunk vatten;
Kedja av människor;
I takt med tiden;
Trojas återhämtning;
Sångarens hus.

Mobile version