Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sibelius with Oramo - Click here to watch the concerts for free!
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Video streamed event and on demand: In Focus: Celestial Serenades

Watch online on www.clevelandorchestra.comThe Cleveland OrchestraRecorded at Severance Hall, Cleveland, OH, United States
Requires subscription
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Thursday 03 June 202119:00
On demand until Friday 03 September 2021 23:59

This program embraces the journey of finding meaning in grief and reflection, while also returning to the simple joys of everyday life.

It opens with two works by American composer Aaron Jay Kernis, with the first a world premiere of an arrangement created especially for Cleveland Orchestra principal trumpet Michael Sachs and renowned harpist Yolanda Kondonassis — of a work written just one year ago offering music to reflect, mourn, and remember those lost to the Covid-19 pandemic. Musica Celestis then envisions a celestial choir of heavenly angels singing God’s praises without end.

Closing the performance, we are firmly rooted on earth with a gentle and cheerful Serenade by Josef Suk, Dvořák’s favorite student (and future son-in-law).


In addition to the concert performances, each episode of In Focus includes behind-the-scenes interviews and features about the music and musicmaking.

Mobile version