Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Video streamed event and on demand: Milestone 21

Watch online on www.takt1.comO/ModerntRecorded at Ulriksdals Slottsteater, Stockholm, Sweden
Pay to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Tuesday 15 June 202119:00
On demand until Thursday 15 July 2021 23:59Festival: O/Modernt
Hugo TicciatiViolin, Conductor
Nils LandgrenTrombone, Vocals
Gwilym SimcockPiano
Robert IkizPercussion
Jord Carrasco-HjelmDouble Bass
O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra

The year 2021 marks thirty years since the death of Miles Davis, fifty since that of Igor Stravinsky, and five hundred since the passing of Josquin des Prez. This trio of composers, all celebrated for their transformative energy, come together in a concert that forges musical connections across time, space and genre. From his early work with Charlie Parker, via his 1950s quintets, to his experiments with jazz-rock and fusion, Miles Davis repeatedly reinvented his music by returning to its roots. Stravinsky looked back in a different way, seeking to renew the art music of the nineteenth century by rediscovering the primitivist syncopations heard in his explosive Rite of Spring. While Josquin also eschewed musical conformity, famously making himself ‘the master of the notes, which must do as he wills’. Davis, Stravinsky and Josquin didn’t just change the way we hear the music of their time: they changed the way we hear music itself.

Mobile version