Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Video streamed event and on demand: Piano explored: Saint Saëns and Mendelssohn

Watch online on www.londonmozartplayers.comLondon Mozart PlayersRecorded at St John's Smith Square, London, United Kingdom
Pay to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Thursday 18 February 202113:05
On demand until Wednesday 18 August 2021 13:05

The seventh season of Piano Explored, postponed from October 2020 to February 2021, opens with Saint-Saëns much-admired second piano concerto – a tour de force for any pianist. By turns tempestuous, flighty and lyrical, this concerto breaks convention by having each succeeding movement faster than the last in a structured accelerando, ending with an exhilarating conclusion. Berlioz described Saint-Saëns as ‘an absolutely shattering master pianist’, and in Howard Shelley we have our own master at work. In this lunchtime concert, Saint-Saëns is paired with Mendelssohn’s a charming one-movement Capriccio Brillant, which reveals the best in sophisticated pianistic art. The gentle melancholy of the Andante and the contrasting dizzying arpeggios, chromatic runs and octave leaps of the Allegro will allow Howard Shelley to demonstrate his virtuosic skills and profound musicality. Howard’s entertaining and informative introduction will be followed by a performance of both works by the LMP with Howard directing from the piano.

This concert will be filmed without an audience and released online on Thursday 18 February, 1:05pm.

© Kevin Day
© Kevin Day
Mobile version