Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Video streamed event and on demand: Soup Concert with Violin, Clarinet and Piano

Watch online on www.konserthuset.seKonserthuset PlayRecorded at Konserthuset Stockholm: Grünewaldsalen, Stockholm, Sweden
Free to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Friday 07 May 202112:15
On demand until Friday 31 December 2021 23:59
Johan FransénClarinet
Patrik SwedrupViolin, Viola
Stefan LindgrenPiano

Mozart met the phenomenal clarinettist Anton Stadler and soon, his music was filled with the warm tones of the clarinet. Stadler was one of the most acclaimed musicians of his time and they likely spent time together outside of musical circles. Perhaps they also played skittles (Kegelstatt) together.

This lyrically beautiful trio was intended to be performed by Mozart’s student Franziska von Jacquin on piano, Anton on clarinet and Wolfgang Amadeus himself on viola. Here, concertmaster Patrik Swedrup of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra will exchange his violin for a viola and handle the solo section.

In the piece Rain Waves, American composer Joan Towers conveys the evocative, shifting intensity of rain. This music moves in dynamic waves, in which the notes can be interpreted as raindrops. The concert will begin with Milhaud’s understated suite, in which his interest in Brazilian and American pop music melds with French lightness.

Mobile version