Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Video streamed event and on demand: The New York Philharmonic String Quartet and Beatrice Rana

Watch online on www.92y.org92nd Street YRecorded at 92nd Street Y: Kaufmann Concert Hall, New York City, NY, United States
Pay to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Tuesday 07 June 202219:30
On demand from Tuesday 07 June 2022 19:30
to Friday 10 June 2022 19:30

92Y’s second co-presentation with the New York Philharmonic this season features the illustrious New York Philharmonic String Quartet joined by one of the piano’s most blazing new stars, Beatrice Rana.

Their imaginative program spans nearly 250 years and focuses on music written in response to dark times and ideas. The concert opens with award-winning contemporary composer Joel Thompson’s In Response to the Madness, his quartet capturing the angst of our early 21st century universe. Mozart’s “Dissonance” Quartet follows — a work that flirts with disharmony, but is filled with soaring music, and offers a brilliant showcase for the quartet. The program’s spectacular final work features Rana, one of today’s must-hear pianists, in her first appearance on our stage, after thrilling audiences and critics with her pre-pandemic Carnegie Hall debut. “Beatrice Rana has ferocious technique, but is distinguished by her musical intelligence,” wrote The New York Times. In the Shostakovich quintet, Rana continues her fascination with and brilliance in the early 20th century piano literature, promising to bring fire, subtlety and thrills.

Concert available for viewing online for 72 hours from time of broadcast.

Mobile version