Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
pbl
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
Home
What's on
Reviews
Articles
Video
Site
Dance home
EventsReviewsArticlesVideo

The Goldberg Variations, BWV988

Rosas Performance Space164, Avenue Van Volxem, Brussels, Brussels Capital, 1190, Belgium
Dates/times in Brussels time zone
Wednesday 01 September 202120:30
Thursday 02 September 202120:30
Friday 03 September 202120:30
Saturday 04 September 202120:30
Wednesday 08 September 202120:30
Thursday 09 September 202120:30
Friday 10 September 202120:30
Saturday 11 September 202120:30
Wednesday 15 September 202120:30
Thursday 16 September 202120:30
Show 2 more dates

"This Is My Dance Golden Jubilee" — Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

In his Goldberg Variations, Bach presents an interplay of variations, canons, and fugues that transform a simple, modest melody into an extraordinarily multifaceted musical cosmos. Together with the pianists Pavel Kolesnikov and Alain Franco, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker uses Bach’s score as the blueprint for a similar exercise: exploring a form that is constantly changing. The large forces of her The Six Brandenburg Concertos are here reduced to a single soloist, the choreographer herself, who draws on her choreographic archives – with movement quotations from iconic works such as Fase, Bartók, and Drumming – while improvisation also permits the unpredictable.

The work, created around the time of her sixtieth birthday, marks a new, very personal milestone in De Keersmaeker’s ongoing search for her own choreographic idiom.

La Monnaie De Munt
September 2021
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
30310102030405
06070809101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930010203
04050607080910
Evening performance
Matinee performance
Mobile version