Unsere Datenschutzrichtlinien wurden am Freitag 31 Januar 2020 aktualisiertMehr InformationenOK
Click here to discover the music festival scene in Estonia
Bachtrack logo
Startseite Konzerte

Video-on-Demand: Franck's Piano Quintet in F minor

Online auf www.konserthuset.se ansehenKonserthuset PlayAufgenommen am Konserthuset Stockholm: Stora Salen, Stockholm, Schweden

César Franck’s Piano Quintet in F Minor leaves no one unmoved. This chamber music has explosive power and emotional weight! In addition to the Symphony in D Minor, this is often considered one of his best pieces.

Franck composed this piece in late 1870s, and it is music with enormous emotional power. The score is absolutely filled with PPP and FFF, i.e., notes to play very, very soft and very, very loud. In addition, the harmonics take winding paths forward through the music without ever losing direction. 

However, this acclaimed music did not impress Camille Saint-Saëns, who played piano at the premiere performance and to whom it was also dedicated. After the final chord, he left the stage with no desire to give thanks for the applause. Yet, still today this is considered a beautiful, moving piece.

Watch it performed by talented members from the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.

Mobile Version