Unsere Datenschutzrichtlinien wurden am Freitag 31 Januar 2020 aktualisiertMehr InformationenOK
Bachtrack logo

Video-on-Demand: Martin Fröst's Dollhouse

KonserthusetPlayAufgenommen am Konserthuset Stockholm: Stora Salen, Stockholm, Schweden
Königliches Philharmonisches Orchester Stockholm
Martin FröstDirigent, Klarinette, Direktor
Magnus HolmanderKlarinette
Ingrid Meidell NoodtKlarinette
Linus FellbomDirektor, Licht
Birgitta EgerbladhChoreographie
Ambra SucciChoreographie

Subtitles in English are activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Dollhouse is a unique concert creation by clarinettist Martin Fröst – a fusion of music, choreography and light that far surpasses conventions. This concert centres on movement.

Dollhouse is a concept and a concert in equal measure. The invisible ties between musicians and music, between conductor and orchestra are exposed, giving rise to action on several different levels.

Martin Fröst has said about Dollhouse: “It’s a kind of exploration of what happens on stage, where I’ve created a fusion between conducting, playing and choreography. The movements are incorporated into the music and the musicians follow my choreography. Everything lands in a sort of theatrical borderland, where the musicians react to my movements; in a sense, it is a liberation from ingrained patterns, a different way to communicate in order to achieve new dimensions in the music.”

Among other things, during the concert we hear the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra perform his brother Göran Fröst’s DTangled, composed especially for Dollhouse. We also hear his brilliant Klezmer Dance No 3, Anders Hillborg’s clarinet concerto Peacock Tales (Millennium Version), and music by Stravinsky, Duaks and Sørensen.

Also available to watch free are the other two projects part of this trilogy: Genesis (2015) and Retrotopia (2018).

Mobile Version