Unsere Datenschutzrichtlinien wurden am Montag 24 Juni 2019 aktualisiertMehr InformationenOK
Bachtrack logo
Startseite Konzerte

Jakub Hrůša conducts Dvořák and Brahms

Konzerthalle Bamberg: Joseph Keilberth SaalMußstr. 1, Bamberg, Bayern, 96047, Deutschland
Am Donnerstag 6 Februar 2020 um 20:00

“I believe in music with roots,” Krzysztof Penderecki once said in an interview. He always draws his inspiration from the roots of European music, which “we must not forget”. His opera “Paradise Lost” is about the first human couple’s fall from grace and banishment from Paradise. However, it ends on a more hopeful note than the verse epic by John Milton upon which it is based – the archangel sent to punish the guilty pair bids them farewell with the words: “Be strong in faith, in hope and love, which is stronger than all, then you will be able to leave paradise without anxiety and win paradise in yourselves.” We will play the highly elegiac Adagietto that accompanies Adam and Eve’s first night of love in the Garden of Eden. After this, we will welcome star violinist Julia Fischer to the stage. She will perform Mozart’s last violin concerto – a milestone of his oeuvre, which according to Albert Einstein is “unsurpassed in brilliance, tenderness and wit”. This piece is also referred to as a “Turkish” violin concerto – for an oriental passage appears in its final Rondo that Mozart took from his ballet music for “Le gelosie del serraglio”. This concert will end with a performance of Brahms’s First Symphony. The composer, who was highly self-critical, took almost 15 years to write it – and move out of Beethoven’s shadow. For Brahms, the composing of symphonies in particular was a “matter of life and death”. His symphonic debut was a great success, however – from its opening portentous conflict to the emotional triumph of the final movement, whose alphorn theme is a declaration of love for Clara Schumann.

Mobile version