Notre politique de confidentialité a été mise à jour pour la dernière fois le lundi 24 juin 2019Voir iciIgnorer
Se connecter
Bachtrack logo
Drapeau de Autriche

Compositeur: Haas, Georg Friedrich (n. 1953)

Rechercher des événements de musique classique, opéra et ballet | Haas
Fichier de données
Année de naissance1953
décembre 2019
Spectacles à venirEn voir plus...

CologneKlangforum Wien

Lang, Haas
Bas Wiegers; Klangforum Wien

ViennaORF Radio-Symphonieorchester, Christoph Sietzen & Alondra de la ParraErstaufführung

Prokofiev, Haas, Márquez, Villa-Lobos
ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien; Alondra de la Parra; Christoph Sietzen

Frankfurt am MainEnsemble Modern

Grisey, Haas
Junge Deutsche Philharmonie; Sylvain Cambreling; Ensemble Modern

Graz7. Orchesterkonzert

Haas, Beethoven
Grazer Philharmoniker; Bernhard Schneider; Olga Bezsmertna; Katrin Wundsam; Lothar Odinius; Sebastian Holecek
Critiques récentesEn voir plus...

Sir Simon Rattle et les Berliner : leur bouleversant adieu à Paris

© Ava du Parc | Philharmonie de Paris
Depuis leur intégrale Beethoven, qui avait obtenu à Paris un succès considérable, nous n’avions pas eu l’occasion de reparler des Berliner Philharmoniker. Ultime étape de leur tournée d’adieu avec Sir Simon Rattle, la Philharmonie accueillait de nouveau ce dimanche la phalange berlinoise.

Licht und Schatten, Zeit und Endlichkeit bei der Ruhrtriennale

Sylvain Cambreling © Ursula Kaufmann | Ruhrtriennale 2019
Sylvain Cambreling und das Klangforum Wien erzeugen mit Musik von Haas und Xenakis fantasievolle Bilder.

Prom 21: An Alpensinfonie for the whole family

Ilan Volkov © Astrid Ackermann
Ilan Volkov conducts the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in an attractive account of Strauss' mighty Alpine Symphony.

Restless commemoration from Benjamin and London Sinfonietta

George Benjamin and the London Sinfonietta © BBC/Chris Christodoulou
A programme of new music and 20th-century classics reflects on loss, war, inhumanity and redemption. 

Das Klangforum Wien bricht eine Lanze für Georg Friedrich Haas

Mollena Lee Williams-Haas © Beatrice Behn & René Gebhardt | Holland Festival
Hyena ist ein spannendes Konzerterlebnis im Rahmen des Holland Festivals und ein überzeugendes Plädoyer für ein weiteres Entdecken der Musik von Georg Friedrich Haas.

You can read our October 2013 interview with Georg Friedrich Haas here.

Georg Friedrich Haas was born in 1953 in Graz, a city in the east of Austria. His childhood was spent in the mountainous province of Vorarlberg, on the Swiss border. The landscape and the atmosphere of the place have left a lasting impression on his personality. The atmosphere was marked not so much by natural beauty in the accepted sense of the word. Rather, Haas experienced the mountains as a menace; he felt closed in by the narrow valley where the sun rarely penetrated. Nature for him represented a dark force. The composer adds: “Just as important for me was the experience of being an outsider: unlike my younger siblings, I never learned to speak the local Alemannic dialect. Also, I was a Protestant in a predominantly Catholic society.”

To study music, Haas returned to his native city where his professors were Gösta Neuwirth and Ivan Eröd. Later, he continued his studies in Vienna with Friedrich Cerha. Haas: “For all our apparent differences (and probably mutual personal disappointments) I learned from Eröd – apart from many things about the craft of composition – one principle above all else: that the measure of everything is Man, that is, the possibilities inherent in human perception”.

Haas holds Friedrich Cerha in high esteem, something that the older composer (born in 1926) returns in full measure. When the occasion arises, they demonstrate their mutual appreciation unstintingly. In 2007, it was Cerha, the doyen of Austrian composers, who proposed his former pupil for the Great Austrian State Prize, which Haas duly received that year. Until then, however, Haas had had a thorny path to traverse. He speaks openly of the years of “total failure” in trying to make his mark as a composer – another experience to leave its imprint on his development, aggravating his pessimistic leanings. Success, when it did gradually emerge, only mitigated his pessimism but could never wholly eliminate it. It is no wonder, then, that night, darkness, the loss of illusions should have played such an important role in Haas’ oeuvre (such as in his Hölderlin opera Nacht, 1995/1998). It was not until quite recently that his music has been illuminated by light.

Light effects, as integral components of a range of his compositions, have featured prominently for quite some time now, designed by artists specially for the music. (in vain, 2000, which has its UK première later this year, and particularly Hyperion, a concerto for light and orchestra, 2000). However, light as opposed to darkness first emerged as late as 2006 in Sayaka for percussion and accordion as well as in the piano trio Ins Licht (2007) written for Bálint András Varga.

Georg Friedrich Haas is known and respected internationally as a highly sensitive and imaginative researcher into the inner world of sound. Most of his works (with the notable exception of the Violin Concerto, 1998) make use of microtonality, which the composer has subjected to thorough examination in the wake of Ivan Wyschnegradsky and Alois Hába. He has taught courses and lectured on the subject in several countries; in 1999 he was invited by the Salzburg Festival to give a talk under the title “Beyond The Twelve Semitones”, with the subtitle “Attempt at a Synopsis of Microtonal Composition Techniques”.

The Cello Concerto, just as Wer, wenn ich schriee, hörte mich ..., 1999, for percussion and ensemble, reflects Haas’ political commitment and his bitter realisation of his helplessness as a composer: there is no way his music could serve to better the world. The percussion concerto was written at the time of the Balkan war; when Haas heard aeroplanes flying overhead carrying their deadly burden, he asked himself whether anyone could hear him, if he were to cry out in protest against the war. The concerto begins with a scream in unbearable pain, followed by a section where the drumbeat conjures up the march rhythm of the Prussian army: a plea against fascism.

A daringly innovative composer of rich imaginative power, a homo politicus aware of his responsibilities as a citizen, Georg Friedrich Haas is one of the leading artists in Europe today. Among the prizes he has won are the SWR Symphony Orchestra Composition Prize 2010, the Music Award of the City of Vienna 2012 and the Music Award Salzburg 2013.