Notre politique de confidentialité a été mise à jour pour la dernière fois le lundi 24 juin 2019Voir iciIgnorer
Se connecter
Bachtrack logo
Accueil concerts

Aurora Orchestra with Angela Hewitt – Beacons

PlanRéserverMes souhaits
Kings Place: Hall One90 York Way, Londres, Greater London, N1 9AG, Royaume-uni
Le samedi 14 décembre 2019 at 19:00

A highly-respected musical figure in 19th-century France, Louise Farrenc received wide critical acclaim for her music, counting both Berlioz and Schumann as devoted fans. Complementing her role as a composer, she was also the Paris Conservatoire’s first female Professor of Piano, where she argued for equal pay with her male counterparts and won. Her early fight for equal opportunities personifies the spirit of Aurora’s centenary celebration of the Sex Disqualification (Removal) Act – the landmark legislation that paved the way for women to enter a range of professions which had previously been closed to them. The orchestra pairs Farrenc’s overlooked third symphony – muscular, ambitious, and expressive – with Mozart’s exuberant Piano Concerto No. 22 performed by Angela Hewitt, one of the world’s most celebrated pianists.

Works to include a new commission marking the centenary of the Sex Disqualification (Removal) Act 1919. Produced in association with the First 100 Years project.

The performance of Louise Farrenc’s Symphony No. 3 is made possible with funding from the ABO Trust’s Sirens programme, a ten-year initiative to support the performance and promotion of music by historical women composers.

Mobile version