Notre politique de confidentialité a été mise à jour pour la dernière fois le lundi 24 juin 2019Voir iciIgnorer
Bachtrack logo
Accueil opéra

Three Orchestras from London: Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique

Philharmonie: Großer Saal1 Herbert-von-Karajan-Straße, Berlin, D10785, Allemagne
Le samedi 31 août 2019 at 19:00
Festival: Musikfest Berlin
Sir John Eliot GardinerDirection
Sophia BurgosSopranoTeresa
Adèle CharvetMezzo-sopranoAscanio
Michael SpyresTénorBenvenuto Cellini
Krystian AdamTénorFrancesco
Lionel LhoteBarytonFieramosca
Ashley RichesBarytonBernardino
Matthew RoseBasseGiacomo Balducci
Tareq NazmiBassePope Clement VII
Monteverdi Choir
Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
Fabian AloiseChorégraphie

Berlioz died in Paris on 8 March 1869. On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the composer’s death, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, a renowned Berlioz-expert, chose this special work, which underwent a difficult history of adaptation and production, to bring it back to the stage in a version of his own. Berlioz’ first stage work is significant for his reception, both because of its composition and its dramaturgy, since the scenes from the life of sculptor Benvenuto Cellini may well be regarded as a biographical mirror of the composer’s own life. “Benvenuto Cellini” (1834 – 1837) was premiered on 10 September 1838 in Paris, the first performance in Berlin took place in 1896 at Königliche Hofoper Unter den Linden, today’s Staatsoper, and the work has only rarely been featured in operatic repertoires since then. Thus, the performance of “Benvenuto Cellini” at the 2019 Musikfest Berlin promises to be a premiere for the 21st century audience.

Mobile version