Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo

Guide to the Geneva International Music Competition


Founded in 1939, the Geneva Competition is one of the world’s leading international music competitions. It aims at discovering, promoting and supporting young talented artists, giving them the necessary tools to launch an international career.

Geneva's multi-disciplinary approach is one of its most distinctive assets. Today, the Geneva Competition alternates between several main disciplines: piano, flute, oboe, clarinet, cello, viola, string quartet, voice and percussion. Every second year, it offers a Composition Prize.

In addition to its official prizes, Geneva offers a career development programme, providing precious support and advice to help boost laureates’ careers. The programme includes two years of concert management, as well as CD recordings, international tours, a festival and professional workshops. More information here.

Piano & Clarinet 2018

The 73rd Geneva Competition is presenting piano & clarinet and will be held from October 27th until November 14th in Geneva, Switzerland. Application deadline is May 4th, 2018. Candidates are invited to register directly on the Geneva Competition’s website.

Click on the following links to find out about programme and rules for the piano competition and the clarinet competition.

Fact file
SectionsClarinet, Piano
Deadline04 May 2018
Finals08 - 14 Nov 2018
WhereGeneva, Switzerland
Age groups30 and under

Jury members

Piano jury: Joaquín Achúcarro (President), Hortense Cartier-Bresson, Peter Donohoe, Kei Itoh, Björn Lehmann, Cédric Pescia and Andrei Pisarev.

Clarinet jury: Sharon Kam (President), Jerry Chae, Michael Collins, Lorenzo Coppola, Romain Guyot, Kari Kriikku and Richard Stolzman.

Laureates of the Geneva Competition

Click here to know more about the recent winners of the Geneva Competition. You can also find here the full list of winners since 1939 and the .

Competition concerts

Piano competition - 1st round

Brahms, Chopin, Schubert, Schumann, Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven

GenevaPiano competition - 2nd round

Beethoven, Debussy

GenevaClarinet competition - 2nd round


GenevaPiano competition - Final round

Beethoven, Bartók, Brahms, Chopin, Liszt, Prokofiev, Ravel, Saint-Saëns, Schumann
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande; Peter Oundjian

GenevaClarinet competition - Semi-final round

Mozart, Bassi, Lovreglio, Bernstein, Poulenc, Lutosławski, Martinů, Arnold

GenevaClarinet competition - 1st round

Schumann, Donatoni, Holliger, Jarrell, Mantovani, Widmann, Stockhausen, Denisov

GenevaClarinet competition - final round

Choi, Weber, Crusell, Rietz
L'Orchestre de Chambre de Genève; Pierre Bleuse; Haute école de musique Genève Orchestra Academy
Looking back on the 2016 and 2017 editions