Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on

On demand: Jennifer Higdon's Loco

GSOplayRecorded at Gothenburg Concert Hall: Stora Salen, Gothenburg, Sweden
Online until Sunday 1 December 2019

Loco is an orchestral composition in one movement by American composer Jennifer Higdon. Santtu-Matias Rouvali opens his third season as the Chief Conductor of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra stronger than ever. The work was commissioned to commemorate the Ravinia train in Illinois. The composer says: “Loco celebrates the Centennial season of Ravinia and the train that accompanies the orchestra. When thinking about what kind of piece to write, I saw in my imagination a locomotive. And in a truly ironic move for a composer, my brain subtracted the word "motive", leaving "loco", which means crazy. Being a composer, this appealed to me, so this piece is about locomotion as crazy movement!"

Filmed in September 2019

You can also watch a mini interview where Rouvali speaks about performing this piece.

Mobile version