Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Competitions home

Guide to the 2018 Hamamatsu International Piano Competition

Fact file
Deadline15 Apr 2018
Finals23 - 24 Nov 2018
WhereTokyo, Japan
Background information

The Hamamatsu International Piano Competition was started in 1991 in commemoration of the 80th anniversary of the founding of Hamamatsu City. Since then this international cultural program has been held every three years to celebrate the history and tradition of the city of music and musical instruments.

Over the years, the competition has produced many pianists who are active on the world stage and many of the prize-winners of the Hamamatsu International Piano Competition have gone on to receive awards at famous international piano competitions. As a result, the competition receives both domestic and international acclaim.

The First Prizewinner will be given at least 10 opportunities to perform in and outside of Japan, including solo recitals and performances with major orchestras, by the end of March 2020.

Click here to go to the Hamamatsu site.

  • Congratulations to the winners!

    1st Prize: Can Cakmur (Turkey)

    2nd Prize: Ushida Tomoharu (Japan)

    3rd Prize: Lee Hyuk (Korea)

    4th Prize: Imada Atsushi (Japan)

    5th Prize: Mukawa Keigo (Japan)

    6th Prize: Yasunami Takashi (Japan)

    Best Performer of a Japanese Work: Umeda Tomoya (Japan)

    Diploma of Outstanding Merit: Andrei Iliushkin (Russia)