Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Video on demand: Martin Fröst's Genesis

Watch online on www.konserthuset.seKonserthuset PlayRecorded at Konserthuset Stockholm: Stora Salen, Stockholm, Sweden
Free to view
Linus FellbomLighting Designer
Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Martin FröstConductor, Clarinet
Cecilie LøkkenFlute
Sara CazzanelliClarinet
Magnus HolmanderClarinet
Sandra IbarrecheClarinet
Olof WendelCimbalom
Adolf Fredriks Gosskör
Karin BäckströmChoirmaster / chorus director
Ambra SucciChoreography

Subtitles in English, German and Swedish are activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Genesis is a strikingly original project created and led by Swedish clarinettist Martin Fröst as part of his collaboration with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. A seamless programme of works freely drawn from a millennium of music history.

Martin Fröst continuously explores different aspects of the essence of music, creating new artistic expressions with both old and newly written music. The origins and development of classical music comprise the theme of Genesis, and we get to follow along on a journey through musical history, from ancient jester traditions to brand new music by Anders Hillborg. In between are wonderfully swinging klezmer pieces, musical invocations and bustling Baroque.

“It’s all connected, and the music also reflects people. When I listen to a modern piece, I sometimes experience a cross-section of musical history layered into the music. Because so much more unites old and new music and music from different parts of the world than one might think. For example, this can be heard when the piece ‘Jag vet en Dejlig Rosa’ transitions into Olivier Messiaen’s ‘Les offrandes oubliées’. Or how Anders Hillborg’s newly composed piece is a response to Hildegard of Bingen’s music, which is nearly 900 years old,” comments Martin Fröst on his performance of Genesis.

Also available to watch free are the other two projects part of this trilogy: Dollhouse (2013) and Retrotopia (2018).

Mobile version