Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Competitions home

International Chamber Music Competition “Franz Schubert and Modern Music”

Past winners: Where are they now?
Simply Quartet, 1st prize 2018 (category: String Quartet)
Duo Timoshenko & Desseva, 1st prize 2018 (category: Lied)
Trio Marvin, 2nd prize 2018 (category: Piano Trio)

The International Chamber Music Competition “Franz Schubert and Modern Music” (FS&MM) was established by the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz in 1989. Right from the start, it was about bringing Schubert’s chamber music into relation with both new and the latest works for the corresponding line-up.

The competition is held triennially. The next edition will take place in February 6-15, 2021 in the categories Duo for Voice and Piano (Lied) as well as Trio for Piano , Violin and Violoncello.

The most characteristic element of this international competition is the link it creates between well-known repertoire and contemporary music. Contemporary music is not seen as garnish, but as a challenge that demands serious work and reflection. In both categories, the expansion of chamber music repertoire is actively pursued through composition competitions. In addition to the self-chosen repertoire, participants will add compulsory pieces to their program.

Entry conditions

Musicians born after February 15 1985 are eligible to apply.

Start of registration will be April 1, 2020. Deadline: October 21, 2020.

Past Laureates

Simply Quartet – 1st prize 2018 (category: String Quartet)

Trio Marvin – 2nd prize 2018 (category: Piano Trio)

Mikhail Timoshenko (bass-baritone) and Elitsa Desseva (piano) – 1st prize 2018 (category: Lied)

Trio Atos – 1st prize 2006 (category: Piano Trio)

Peter Schöne (baritone) and Norie Takahashi (piano) – 1st prize and audience prize 2003 (category: Lied)

Jerusalem Quartet – 1st prize 1997 (category: String Quartet)

For more information, please visit the International Chamber Music Competition Franz Schubert and Modern Music's website.


- Prize money totalling approximately 65,000 EUR
- Career consulting and supervision for selected prizewinners.
- Special awards and scholarships to play concerts (around 20 partnerships) and take part in masterclasses.
- Workshops in the fields of career planning, self-management and the music outreach.

Fact file
SectionsDuo for Voice and Piano (Lied), Piano Trio
Deadline01 Apr - 21 Oct 2020
Finals14 Feb 2021
WhereGraz, Austria
Age groupsMusicians born after February 15 1985 are eligible.

The Jury of the 2021 Competition

Piano Trio:
Chia Chou (Canada), Chair; Ellen Magrete Flesjø (Norway); Lucy Gould (United Kingdom); Stefan Heinemeyer (Germany); Catherine Klipfel (France); Minna Pensola (Finland)

Joseph Breinl (Germany), Chair; Lina Maria Åkerlund (Sweden); André Morsch (Germany); Anthony Spiri (Usa); Christianne Stotijn (Netherlands); Roger Vignoles (United Kingdom), Christine Lemke-Matwey (Germany)