Our privacy policy was last updated on Monday 24 June 2019View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Competitions home

The Mahler Competition

Laureates: Where are they now?

Entry conditions

Applications by filling in an online questionnaire and uploading compelling videos/documents will be open from 1 September to 30 November. A selection panel will choose the 12 candidates who will be invited to Bamberg in February 2020.


The competition in Bamberg will start on the eve of June 29 with the drawing of the first round, which will begin the next morning. All sessions will be at the Konzerthalle and with the full Bamberg Symphony. Candidates should be prepared to conduct Mahler from the very start. Usually, two sessions are held per day. All candidates are invited to stay for the whole competition, whether still competing or not. The winner will conduct a concert with the Bamberg Symphony on July 5, which also marks the end of the competition.

Semifinals: 3 July 2020, 10:00h and 17:00h

Final: 4 July 2020, 17:00h

Rounds are open to the public from the semifinals onwards. Further and detailed information will be provided on the competition website at the time given.


All travel and accommodation for all candidates throughout the whole competition time is paid for by the competition; all candidates selected are invited to stay in Bamberg for the entire competition, even if they no longer compete.

The Jury

Marina Mahler, Honorary Member

Jakub Hrusa, Chief Conductor Bamberg Symphony, President of the Jury

John Carewe, conductor

Deborah Borda, President and Chief Executive, New York Philharmonic

Barbara Hannigan, singer and conductor

Bertrand de Billy, conductor

Martin Campbell-White, artist manager

Helmut Lachenmann, composer

Ara Guzelimian, Provost and Dean, The Juilliard School

Marcus R. Axt, Chief Executive, Bamberg Symphony

Juanjo Mena, conductor

N. N., orchestra member, Bamberg Symphony

For more information, please visit The Mahler Competition's website.

Fact file
Deadline01 Sep - 30 Nov 2019
Finals04 Jul 2020
WhereBamberg, Germany
Age groupsNo older than 35 years on 1 January 2020

First prize: 30,000 EUR

Second prize: 20,000 EUR

Third prize: 10,000 EUR

All candidates may be invited by Jury Members to attend concerts, workshops, masterclasses, contact to agencies etc.

Upcoming eventsSee more...

BambergThe Mahler Competition: Semifinals

The Mahler Competition: Semifinals
Bamberg Symphony

BambergThe Mahler Competition: Final

The Mahler Competition: Final
Bamberg Symphony

BambergPrize winner concert of The Mahler Competition

Prize winner concert of The Mahler Competition
Bamberg Symphony